Vienna Scientists II [CD]

Various Artists
Vienna Scientists II — More Puffs From Our Laboratories
Columbia / Sony Music
Cat. No.:
COL 495017-2
CD Compilation
Release Date:
Sep, 1999
Electronica, Leftfield, Downbeat, Dub
Download Release-info (DOC):
Deutsch | English


Release Info

Welcome to the second expedition into the regions of relaxed sounds and retarding rhythms - to vienna, where our sonic scientists refined some more new beats and extracted fresh strains in their laboratories. Along with already familiar names "Vienna Scientists Vol. II - More Puffs From Our Laboratories" presents brisk new talents out of the local DJ and producers guild and their continous creative output. It allows a closer look on the musical produce of the city, where side by side with internationally renowned acts plenty of hidden talents are to be found. This album was put together by 'First Scientist' Jürgen Drimal, who acclaimed plenty of media attention with part one of the compilation. The cover painting comes from Vienese artist Mario Huber, whose "pictures with no name for music with no name" already graced the preceding product. The artwork for "Vienna Scientists Vol. II" was done by O/R/E/L.

Track Infos

01 Freedom Satellite — Easy 99 [4:32] *

With the project FREEDOM SATELLITE, Gernot Ebenlechner and Jürgen Drimal have created a platform for the realization of their musical universe, influenced by 40 years of recorded history, driven by an affinity for phat beats. "Easy '99" came into being with energetically support from Liz "Fuzz" Neumayr (voc), Michael Pint (bass) and designer Gerald Tomez (git).

02 Vienna D.C. — Smoke [4:00] *

The impression that Gregor Ugovsek and Michael Konrad (VIENNA DC) want to leave their listeners with is, in their own definition, "non-spectacular, unconcepted and floating music - snapshots instead of perfect arrangements." "Smoke" was developed along with MC E-Mix from London. Meanwhile, VIENNA DC are working on their first EP, which will be released by the end of the year.

03 Romeo — Sparky's Joint [5:59] *

FAMILIE SEELIG was founded 1995 in Linz by Alexander Kellas and Daniel Sack. They are recording together with changing guests, their style is best described as "Living Room Music": From the living room, for the living room for the accomplishment of every day routine and as a catalyst of moods.

04 Familie Seelig — Morning Mist [5:32] *

The Uptight People/Rodney Hunter and Werner Geier aka Demon Flowers. Rodney Hunter is the producer from the Aphrodelics, Werner Geier the mastermind from the radioshow „Tribe Vibes" on the Viennese Radio Station FM4. Besides their joint label Uptight Records, they became well known in the scene with remixes for Freakpower, Mark Murphy, Tosca, Omar, Martine Girault, Count Basic, Waldeck, Urbs & Chaos, etc.

05 Stereotyp — Port Blue [5:13] *

Stefan Moerth is a man with many different musical faces: With this project he worships chased rhythmical works with dark, jazzy undertones. He made his debut with the EP "Stash It" under the name STEREOTYP last autumn on G-Stone Recordings, the imprint of Peter Kruder and Richard Dorfmeister.

06 Super Nova — 23. Juli [5:54] *

SUPER NOVA is defined as the extremly bright explosion of a star, comparable to the meteoric rise of the young Austrian band, that was awarded first price in a band contest in 1997. Urban, cosmopolitan and very esperanto is what they call themselves. Plastikpop origins in the synthetic chewinggum-like music which is typical for them - Plastikland, there it is, the musical topic mall of SUPER NOVA.

07 Aromabar — Where's Your Moon [5:19]

Formed in 1996, Aromabar are Roland Hackl and Andreas "DJ Scott" Kinzl, two young gentlemen in search of the ultimate pop song. "Pop Couture" is what they call their style, and they're definetly on the melodic tip, but that doesn't mean that the beats aren't rocking. Aromabar have released two singles on the German 'Infracom' label with another one on the way and a brand new album, "One", out on 30/08/99. They also teamed up with Frankfurt's Marschmellows for a collaboration 12", out now.

08 The Waz Exp. — Malaysian Guy [4:21] *

DJ Martin "Waz" Wazac and Producer Alex Mayer, both influenced by "Afro-Cosmic-Sound", which is quite popular within Western Austria and the South of Germany. With "Malaysian Guy" they are  once again delivering a fluffy, mellow tune with a reggae flavour for you to enjoy.

09 The Menheads — K.u.s.h. [6:27] *

THE MENHEADS, Marcello Armetta and Michael Hirschler, already featured on part one of VIENNA SCIENTISTS, come up again with "K.u.s.h.", a deep and atmospheric moody piece from their forge. Vocals on this track by Denise Fontura.

10 Syncope — Sky [4:40] *

SYNCOPE was brought to life in 1998 by two brothers: While Philipp Thomasberger received a classical musical education, Max was soon engaged with computers and synthesizers. SYNCOPE wants to cover all styles of electronic music, with strong influences being brought in by guest musicians.

11 UKO — Sun Beams [4:23] *

With their unmistakable aesthetic of sounds UKO already made a big impression with "Do Yourself Some Good" on part one of VIENNA SCIENTISTS - their latest strike is "Sun Beams", a easy going and lightweight roller written by Jürgen Nussbaum. Vocal contributions come from Liz "Fuzz" Neumayr.

12 Cruiser — Love Me [3:18] *

CRUISER are  DJ Jochen Reiter, a man who can look back on a illustrous catalogue of records and remixes on various labels worldwide, and musician Michael Reimann. With "Love Me" they are fusing ruff 70's funk with contemporary electronic sounds.

13 Smoke Signal — Peace [5:18] *

SMOKE SIGNAL are DJ Gü-Mix, founder of Vienna's Dub Club, and Stefan Moerth (a man with many different musical faces, as you can see). With their track "Peace" they are on a journey through dark, smoke-filled chambers in slow motion.

14 Patrick Pulsinger — Can't Stay Away (Clip Dub) [5:43] *

A passionate soundcraftsman with international credibiltiy, gained from his work as a DJ as well as for his releases on CHEAP ENTERTAINMENT, a well known outlet of experimental electronic music. As one of the most innovative producers in Austria, we are very proud to present PATRICK PULSINGER on this album!

15 Grisu 2000 — Forget About Miami [5:17] *

GRISU 2000 is a project of Martin "Sugar B" Forster, well known for his sataurday night radio show "Silly Solid Swound System" together with DJ Makossa on Austriain radio station FM 4, and Gringo, the bass player of FREAKY FUKIN' WEIRDOZ. "Forget About Miami" melts various musical influences to a homogenous mixture of sounds.

*) previously unreleased


© Copyright 2000-2015 Vienna Scientists Recordings/Sunshine Enterprises Musikproduktions GmbH